macchariya stinginess or avarice. There are five kinds explained in the Scriptures: avarice concerning dwelling (avasa), family (kula), that is the family which gives requisites to a monk, gain (labha), the requisites he receives, praise (vanna) and Dhamma.

magga path (eightfold Path) .

magga-citta path-consciousness, lokuttara citta which experiences nibbana and eradicates defilements.

magga-paccaya path-condition.

maha-bhuta-rupas the rupas which are the four great elements of earth or solidity, water or cohesion, fire or temperature and wind or motion.

maha-dana is mostly used for the great offering of gifts to the Sangha.

maha-kiriyacitta inoperative citta of the sense-sphere accompanied by beautiful roots.

maha-kusala citta wholesome citta of the sense-sphere are classified as nana vippayutta, unaccompanied by panna or nana sampayutta, accompanied by panna.

maha-vipakacitta citta of the sense-sphere which is result, accompanied by beautiful roots.

maha purisa great men or heroes: with distinctive qualities.

maha-satipatthana four applications of mindfulness.

maha-vipassana principal insight.

manasikara attention.

manayatana mind-base.

mano mind, consciousness.

mano-dhatu mind-element, comprising the five-sense-door adverting- consciousness and the two types of receiving-consciousness. 

mano-dvaravajjana-citta mind-door adverting consciousness.

mano-dvara-vithi-cittas cittas arising in a mind-door process.

mano-vinnana dhatu mind-consciousness element, comprising all cittas other than the sense-cognitions (seeing, etc.) and mind-element.

mara “the evil one”—all that leads to dukkha

metta loving kindness.

miccha-ditthi wrong view

miccha-samadhi wrong concentration

middha torpor.

moha ignorance

moho-mula-citta citta rooted in ignorance

muccitukamyata nana muccati means to become free and kamyata means wish.

mudita sympathetic joy.

Topic 136