Moha - Two types of citta rooted in moha

When we study the Abhidhamma we learn that moha arises with all akusala cittas. Lobha-mūla-cittas have moha and lobha as roots; dosa-mūla -cittas have moha and dosa as roots. There are two types of akusala citta which have moha as their only root, these are moha-mūla-cittas. One type of moha-mūla-citta is moha-mūla-citta accompanied by doubt (in Pāli: vicikiccha), and one type is moha-mūla-citta accompanied by restlessness (in Pāli: uddhacca). The feeling which accompanies moha- mūla-cittas is always indifferent feeling (upekkhā). When the citta is moha- mūla-citta there is no like or dislike; one does not have pleasant or unpleasant feeling. Both types of moha-mūla-citta are unprompted (asankhārika).


The characteristic of moha should not be confused with the characteristic of

ditthi (wrong view), which only arises with lobha-mūla-citta. When ditthi

arises one takes, for example, what is impermanent for permanent, or one

believes that there is a self. Moha is not wrong view, but it is ignorance of

realities. Moha conditions ditthi, but the characteristic of moha is different

from the characteristic of ditthi.


The two types of moha-mūla-citta are: 

1. Arising with indifferent feeling, accompanied by doubt

(Upekkhā-sahagatam., vicikicchā-sampayuttam)       

2. Arising with indifferent feeling, accompanied by restlessness 

(Upekkhā-sahagatam, uddhacca- sampayuttam)

Topic 180