The Five Khandhas - Feeling classified by way of the contacts

Feelings are sixfold when they are classified by way of the contacts occurring through  the six doors: there is feeling which arises because of what is experienced through the eyes, the ears, the nose, the tongue, the bodysense and the mind. All these feelings are different; they arise because of different conditions.  Feeling arises and falls away together with the citta it accompanies and thus at each moment feeling is different.


We read in the 'Kindred Sayings' (IV, Salāyatana-vagga, Part II, Kindred

Sayings about Feeling, par. 8, Sickness II) that the Buddha said to the monks:


…Monks, a monk should meet his end collected and composed. 

This is our instruction to you.

...Now, monks, as that monk dwells collected, composed, earnest,

ardent, strenuous, there arises in him feeling that is pleasant, 

and he thus understands: 

'There is arisen in me this pleasant feeling.

Now that is owing to something, not without cause. 

It is owing to this contact.  

Now this contact is impermanent, compounded, arisen owing to something. 

Owing to this  impermanent contact which has so arisen,

this pleasant feeling has arisen: How can that be permanent?' 

Thus he dwells contemplating the impermanence

in contact and pleasant feeling,  

contemplating their transience, their waning,

their ceasing, the giving of them up.   

Thus as he dwells contemplating their impermanence... 

the  lurking tendency to lust for contact 

and pleasant feeling is abandoned in him.

So also as regards contact and painful and neutral feeling....  

There are still many more ways of classifying feelings. If we know about

different ways of classifying feelings it will help us to realize that feeling is

only a mental phenomenon which arises because of conditions. We are

inclined to cling to the feeling which has fallen away, instead of being aware

of the reality of the present moment as it appears through eyes, ears, nose,

tongue, bodysense or mind. In the passage of the 'Visuddhimagga' which was

quoted above (XX, 96) nāma and rūpa are compared to the sound of a lute

which does not come from any 'store' when it arises, nor goes in any direction

when it ceases, nor persists as a 'store' when it has ceased. However, we

cling so much to feelings that we do not realize that the feeling which has

fallen away does not exist any more, that it has ceased completely.

Vedanākkhandha (feeling) is impermanent.

Topic 175